Senegal: Premier Minister Ousmane Sonko banks on Expertise for His New Government

Photo: Presidency of Senegal

The Prime Minister of Senegal, Ousmane Sonko, took the necessary time to meticulously choose the members of his new government, aiming to successfully fulfill the mission entrusted to him by the 5th President of the Republic, Bassirou Diomaye Faye, while also creating a break in the way the country’s affairs are managed, a promise made to the Senegalese people during the presidential campaign.

On Friday, April 5, 2024, just three days after Bassirou Diomaye Faye’s inauguration as President, Ousmane Sonko released his list of 25 ministers (including four women) and five secretaries of state, thus marking a significant turning point for Senegal.

Among the most notable appointments was Cheikh Diba, former director of budget programming at the Ministry of Finance, who was appointed Minister of Finance. In contrast, Deputy Birame Souleye Diop, former vice-president of Pastef, Ousmane Sonko’s party, will serve as Minister of Energy, Oil, and Mines.

A notable trend is the presence of three Pastef executives in the government, including personalities such as El Malick Ndiaye, appointed to Infrastructure and Transport, and Amadou Moustapha Ndieck Saré, Minister of Vocational Training and government spokesperson.

Two generals were appointed to key positions: Jean Baptiste Tine, Minister of Interior and Public Security, and General Birame DIOP, Minister of Armed Forces.

It’s worth noting that this new cabinet is smaller than the previous one, with 10 fewer ministers than under Macky Sall’s administration. Prime Minister Ousmane Sonko insisted on presenting the complete list of his government’s members, with a diversity of ministerial portfolios covering a wide range of sectors.

On the other hand, the Secretaries of State will play a crucial role in implementing government policies. In summary, this new government represents a major political transition for Senegal, with a mix of established figures and new faces from civil society.

Here is the complete list of government members:

Madame Yacine FALL: Minister of African Integration and Foreign Affairs

General Birame DIOP: Minister of Armed Forces

Mr. Ousmane DIAGNE: Minister of Justice, Keeper of the Seals

General Jean Baptiste TINE: Minister of Interior and Public Security

Mr. Birame Souleye DIOP: Minister of Energy, Oil, and Mines

Mr. Abdourahmane SARR: Minister of Economy, Planning, and Cooperation

Mr. Cheikh DIBA: Minister of Finance and Budget

Mr. Malick NDIAYE: Minister of Infrastructure, Land and Air Transport

Mr. Daouda NGOM: Minister of Environment and Ecological Transition

Mr. Amadou Moustapha Ndieck SARRE: Minister of Vocational Training (Government Spokesperson)

Mr. Cheikh Tidiane DIEYE: Minister of Hydraulics and Sanitation

Mr. Alioune SALL: Minister of Communication, Telecommunications, and Digital

Mr. Elhadj Abdourahmane DIOUF: Minister of Higher Education, Research, and Innovation

Mr. Serigne Gueye DIOP: Minister of Industry and Commerce

Madame Fatou DIOUF: Minister of Fisheries, Maritime and Port Infrastructure

Madame Maïmouna DIEYE: Minister of Family and Solidarity

Mr. Yankhoba DIEME: Minister of Labor, Employment, and Relations with Institutions

Mr. Balla Moussa FOFANA: Minister of Urban Planning, Local Authorities, and Territory Development

Mr. Moustapha GUIRASSY: Minister of National Education

Mr. Ibrahima SY: Minister of Health and Social Action

Mr. Olivier BOUCAL: Minister of Public Service and Public Service Reform

Madame Khady Diène GAYE: Minister of Youth, Sports, and Culture

Mr. Mabouba DIAGNE: Minister of Agriculture, Food Sovereignty, and Livestock

Mr. Alioune DIONE: Minister of Microfinance, Social and Solidarity Economy

Mr. Mountaga DIAO: Minister of Tourism and Crafts

List of Secretaries of State:

Mr. Amadou Chérif DIOUF: Secretary of State for Senegalese Abroad

Mr. Ibrahima THIAM: Secretary of State for SMEs and SMIs Development

Mr. Momath Talla NDAO: Secretary of State for Urbanism and Housing

Mr. Alpha BA: Secretary of State for Cooperatives and Farmer Supervision

Mr. Bacary SARR: Secretary of State for Culture, Creative Industries, and Historical Heritage

As the country enters a new era under the leadership of President Bassirou Diomaye Faye and his team, it remains to be seen how these appointments will translate into policy implementation and the realization of promises of change and progress for the Senegalese people.

Related Images: